Romeo’s Gluten Free Bakery, Islington

There are only so many times that you can go out for breakfast without sausages or bread. There are also only so many times when you panic about maybe there is hidden barley in the ketchup or flour in the beans or unnecessary added gluten on the mushrooms. But at Romeo’s, you can just chill out.

IMG_4328

My Boyfriend surprised me one morning by taking me out for Sunday Brunch at Romeo’s. A lovely gesture, as he loves Gluten…a lot. He found it on the Evening Standard’s Best Gluten Free Brunches and took me to check it out. {How lovely!}

IMG_4321

Firstly, we accidentally went to Romeo’s Sugar Free Bakery, but quickly realised and walked a few more steps down the street. Everything at Romeo’s is gluten free… cakes, bakes, bread. There wasn’t a crumbly cupcake, limp pastry or doughy loaf in sight. All I could see was well baked, great looking food. The bread was truly amazing, and it made a perfect toasted pal to accompany my full English. My boyfriend ordered the same as me, and we were in agreement, amazing sausage (Most GF sausages are better…fact), perfect eggs and a dam good slice of bread.

IMG_4323

I also bought myself a sausage roll to take away for lunch, which was amazing. Fantastic flavours and a brilliant pastry, I’ve never been able to make it myself, and always rely on the Frozen Genius one, I was really really impressed. I wish I could have taken a loaf with me, but we were heading into the centre of London for the day…and as good as the structure was, I don’t think it could handle a busy tube carriage and Trafalgar Square!

 

 

IMG_4325

IMG_4327

Thoroughly excellent.

 

Romeo’s Gluten Free Bakery

167 Upper Street

opposite Islington Town Hall

N1 1US

Tel: 020 7354 8945

Open 7 days a week. 8am-7pm.

th      th-2

2 thoughts on “Romeo’s Gluten Free Bakery, Islington

  1. the bread is the best, it can handle being shaken around in shopping bags unlike supermarket varieties. Ask for the jalapeno bread – even my non gf friends love it!

Leave a comment