Veggie Stuffed Peppers Recipe, Made With Asda Gluten Free Couscous

So I made one of these for myself last night and served it with a bed of lettuce and some chickpeas, and it was delicious! And super filling!

In a previous post, I said I wasn’t a fan of Asda’s Gluten Free couscous, and instead of it sitting in my cupboard, I decided to try it again.

20140511-155612.jpg

This time in the form of stuffed peppers. This makes enough cous cous for 4 stuffed peppers, I only made one so I’ve got loads left for lunch tomorrow!

Recipe:

75g of cous cous made up per instructions
4 red peppers
1 red onion finely chopped
A clove of garlic, finely chopped
Handful of cherry tomatoes, quartered
1tsp of pesto
Mixed morrocan spices
Salt and pepper to taste
Small amount of mature cheddar to melt on the top of each pepper

You could also add feta, and olives (I added some frozen peas because I love them)

Method:
Turn on your oven to 180 degrees c
Chop off the tops of your peppers, leaving the rest of the pepper intact, like a bowl and place them in the oven turning regularly, for around 15 minutes.
Chop up any of the red pepper you can use from the tops, and stir fry along with the garlic and onion and cook until soft.
While the chopped peppers and onions are cooking, make up the cous cous as directed in a large bowl.
Then, add in the tomatoes, seasonings, pesto and the onions and peppers and mix throughly.
Carefully remove the whole peppers from the oven and fill them with the cous cous mixture, topping with a little cheese.
Return to the oven for a further 10 minutes.
Serve on a bed of lettuce and chickpeas and garnish with parsley.

20140511-160723.jpg

This time, I loved the taste of the cous cous, I think it’s because I’d acknowledged that it wouldn’t taste the same as regular cous cous. It’s flavour was complimented well by the Moroccan spices I used, and the texture fitted in with the soft red pepper. It was really lovely! They’re totally adaptable to what ever you have in your kitchen, you could make a Spanish version with manchego and chorizo? Totally up to you!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Veggie Stuffed Peppers Recipe, Made With Asda Gluten Free Couscous

Leave a comment